The History of Hello World.

The History of Hello World.

·

2 min read

Last week I was laying in bed trying to sleep but then I had this weird thought of why do I always start anything new with Hello World? Not only that, I always find other programmers typing Hello World as the first example in any programming language. I remembered I wrote my first computer program back in 2018 that was just printing Hello World. But why Hello World? So I researched a little bit about the history and thought it would be cool to share it with you guys.

"Hello, World" program was very first written by Brian Kernighan as part of the documentation of BCPL programming language. BCPL was used by developers while the development of C was in progress. The born date of "Hello, World" is still somewhat unclear and multiple sources have confirmed multiple dates on the internet.

Brian is a Canadian Computer Scientist who worked at Bell Labs and best known for writing the book on C Programming Language with Dennis Ritchie and building UNIX alongside UNIX creates Ken Thompson and Dennis Ritchie.

So that’s it! I hope you found it helpful, and also I hope that you have a nice day.

Till next time :) Happy Learning.